Graduated Driver Licensing Program (2023)

The Graduated Driver Licensing program aims to curb the overall number of crashes involving teenage drivers, especially the high number of deadly crashes with teen involvement. Kentucky currently has one of the highest teen crash rates in the nation. Teenage drivers account for only six percent of the state's driving population. Yet, they are involved in about 18 percent of fatal crashes in Kentucky and more than 20 percent of all highway crashes. The Graduated Driver Licensing program is only required for drivers obtaining their original permit at 16 or 17. It uses an intermediary period of six months between the learner's permit and a full, unrestricted license. During the intermediary phase, teenagers will have an intermediate license. They can drive on their own, but with two restrictions on their driving privileges - one restricting driving from 12:00 A.M(midnight) to 6:00 A.M.(except in the case of an emergency) and a second restricting the driver to only one unrelated passenger under the age of 20.

Print eligibility letter Only required beforetaking the road skills test to begin the intermediate license phase​


Check eligibility date Check when you are eligibleto take the skills test

Steps to Obtaining a License

Step 1 -Permit Phase

Drivers must be 16 years of age to take the written knowledge and vision tests. Learn more about what to expect by downloading and reviewing theKY Driver Manual.

Note:The Kentucky State Police administer testing. Click h​erefor driver testing information.

Requirements

Drivers will need their Social Security card, an original or certified birth certificate, and proof of residence. Acceptable documents for proof of Kentucky residence are a utility bill or agreement, mortgage documents, postmarked letter with the driver's name and current address, a deed or property tax bill, or a rental housing agreement.A P.O. Box is not acceptable; it must be the physical address.

For persons under 18, a parent or guardian must sign the application, taking financial responsibility for the applicant. A legal guardian must have a certified copy of guardianship papers.

If under the age of 18, the driver must present a School Compliance Verification Form issued by their school. (reference: No Pass/No Drive Law)

If the driver has yet to complete the required driver education training course,reference the Driver Education Training section below.

If You Pass the Permit Test
A distinctive 'under 21' permit will be issuedto all applicants under 21. Permit holdersages 16 - 20 must hold the driving permitfor a minimumof 180 days.
Any person that was a minor at the time of application for a permit must comply with the following requirements:
    • Permit holders may onlydrivewhen accompanied (in the front passenger seat) by a licensed driver 21 years of age or older.
    • The driver must complete a Practice Driving Logwitha minimum of 60 hours of practice driving; 10 hours must be completed at night.
    • The driver is not permitted to drive between the hours of 12:00 A.M. (midnight) and 6:00 A.M. unless the driver can demonstrate a good cause for driving, such as emergencies, school-, or work-related activities.
    • The driver will not receive credit while under suspension for notcomplyingwithKRS 159.051 (No Pass/No Drive Law).
    • If the driver is convicted of a moving traffic violation indicated in KRS 186, 189, and 189A, they will have to restart the 180-day waiting period.
    • Except when accompanied by a driver training instructor affiliated with a driver training school licensed under KRS Chapter 332 or a public or nonpublic secondary school, a person with an instruction permit who is under the age of eighteen (18) years shall not operate a motor vehicle at any time when accompanied by more than one (1) unrelated person who is under the age of twenty (20) years.

            Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is prohibited. All drivers under 21 are subject to "Zero Alcohol Tolerance" (Defined as .02 Blood Alcohol Concentration).

            All drivers are subject to Kentucky's point system. A driver under 18 who accumulates more than 6 points or a driver age 18 and over who accumulates 12 points may have their driving privilege suspended. No serious moving violationsare allowedfor those under the age of 18. Buckle Up. It's the Law! Everyone in the vehicle must wear a seatbelt at all times.

            Step 2 - Intermediate License Phase

            ​After holding the permit for 180 days, the driver may apply for an Intermediate License and take the driving skills test. The Kentucky State Police maintainall aspects of the driving skills test. Appointments can be made byvisiting the KSP website athttp://kentuckystatepolice.org/driver-testing/.For testing, the driver's motor vehicle must be properly registered, and proof of liability insurance is required.

            Note:The Kentucky State Police administer testing. Click herefor driver testing information.

            (Video) Graduate Driver Licensing Programs Not Effective For All Teens

            The driver’s Parent/Guardian must certify the driver has completed 60 hours of practice driving, 10 of which must occur at night. For the Practice Driving Log and Verification Form, go to https://apps.transportation.ky.gov/gdl/.

            If the driver has yet to complete the required driver education training course, reference the Driver Education Training section below.

            If You Pass the Skills Test

            After completing the road test administered by a Kentucky State Police examiner, the examiner will place an "Intermediate License" sticker on the driver's permit. After holding the intermediate license for 180 days or once the driver turns 18 years old, the driver will be eligible for a full license, provided that the required driver education course has been completed (see Driver Education Training). The driver must still comply with the following requirements:

            • The driver is not permitted to drive between the hours of 12:00 A.M. (midnight) and 6:00 A.M. unless the driver can demonstrate a good cause for driving, such as emergencies, school-, or work-related activities.
            • If the driver is convicted of a moving traffic violationindicated in KRS 186, 189, and 189A, they will have to restart the 180-day waiting period.
            • Except when accompanied by a driver training instructor affiliated with a driver training school licensed under KRS Chapter 332 or a public or nonpublic secondary school, a person with an intermediate license who is under the age of eighteen (18) years shall not operate a motor vehicle at any time when accompanied by more than one (1) unrelated person who is under the age of twenty (20) years.

            Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is prohibited. All drivers under 21 are subject to "Zero Alcohol Tolerance" (Defined as .02 Blood Alcohol Concentration). A driver under 18 who accumulates more than 6 points may have their driving privilege suspended—no serious moving violations for those under 18. Buckle Up. It's the Law! Everyone in the vehicle must wear a seatbelt at all times.

            Step 3 - Full Unrestricted License Phase

            Intermediate license holders under 18 years of age who have completed the driver education course requirement and held the intermediate license for at least 180 days may apply for a full unrestricted license. Permit or Intermediate license holders 18 years of age or older who have completed the driver education course requirement and held the permit for 180 days may apply for a full unrestricted license.

            An "Under 21" distinctive license will be issued. Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is prohibited. All drivers under 21 are subject to "Zero Alcohol Tolerance" (Defined as .02 Blood Alcohol Concentration). All drivers are subject to Kentucky's point system. A driver under 18 who accumulates more than 6 points or a driver age 18 and over who accumulates 12 points may have their driving privilege suspended. Buckle Up. It's the Law! Everyone in the vehicle must wear a seatbelt at all times.

            Information for Teen Drivers and Parents/Guardians

            It is up to the Parents/Guardians to decide when their teen is ready to drive. Drivers under the age of 18 cannot apply for a permit or license without the signature of a parent or guardian accepting responsibility. The parent/guardian is jointly liable with the applicant for any damages by signing the application form. The parent/guardian must complete the form at the testing location so that an official can witness the signature and verify guardianship. (Must provide a birth certificate or guardianship papers signed by the judge.)

            A Parent/Guardian has the right to withdraw their responsibility at any time. The Parent/Guardian Withdrawal of Responsibility form must be completed and submitted to a Driver Licensing Regional office. Once this is received and entered, the minor's permit or license will be canceled until another application accepting responsibility is signed.

            Kentucky drivers under the age of 18 must go through three phases of licensing: Learner's Permit, Intermediate License, and then a Full Unrestricted License.

            Before a teen driver can advance to the Intermediate License phase, the Parent/Guardian must document and sign the Practice Driving Log and verification form certifying the driver has completed 60 hours of practice driving, 10 of which must occur at night.

            Parents/Guardians play a significant role in their teen's licensing process. Parents become role models, teachers, monitors, and supervisors when their teen is learning to drive.
            Below are some tools to help you and your teen through the licensing process:

            Parent Guide - Teaching Your Teen
            Parent-Teen Agreement
            Practice Driving Log
            A Family Guide to Teen Driver Safety
            KY Driver Manual

            Parents can help reduce the risk of motor vehicle crashes, especially fatal crashes, by getting involved in your teendriver's education.

            (Video) Alberta makes changes to graduated driver licensing program

            Driver Education Training

            Kentucky has Graduated Licensing laws to improve traffic safety and reduce traffic accidents, injuries and fatalities by controlling a young driver's exposure and progressively moving the driver into more complex driving experiences before full licensure. Drivers whose permits were issued under 18 must complete a driver education program before moving to the full, unrestricted licensing phase. Before you are eligible to obtain a full, unrestricted license, you must complete a driver's training program.

            Acceptable methods of completing the course are as follows:

            • Private Driver Training course at a Division of Driver License approved driver training school. (see below)

            Sure-Drive, Inc.
            3033 Dixie Hwy. Bldg. A Suite 207
            Edgewood, KY41017

            (859) 331-0007

            (Video) Graduated Driver Licensing Made Simple | New Jersey

            Ensure the driver signs up for the 4-hour classroom instruction

            Green Light Driving School
            13501 Aiken Rd.
            Louisville, KY40245

            Ensure the driver signs up for the 4-hour classroom instruction

            Kentucky Driving School

            4809 Poplar Level Rd.

            Louisville, Ky 40213

            Ensure the driver signs up for the 4-hour classroom instruction

            (Video) Tennessee’s Graduated Driver License Program | Talking Traffic Safety

            ABC Driving School
            3002 Taylorsville Rd.
            Louisville, KY40205

            Ensure the driver signs up for the 4-hour classroom instruction


            Completion Submission Process​

            If the driver completed a class offered by Alive at 25 or through the online provider MyImprov, they don't need to submit their completion to the Division of Driver Licensing. Completions will take two full business days for processing before the driver will be eligible to be issued a full unrestricted license.​

            All other completions can be mailed to the address below. Please ensure that the driver's license/permit number, name, and date of birth are on the completed form or transcript. It is the driver's responsibilityto supply the Division of Driver Licensing with the completed information.

            Important: It is the responsibility of the young driver and the parents/guardians to ensure that the driver enrolls and completes one of the programs listed above. The Transportation Cabinet will no longer send Graduated License Course class invitations.

            Kentucky Transportation Cabinet
            Division of Driver Licensing
            Attn: Driver Education
            200 Mero Street
            Frankfort, KY40622

            ​​

            Other Resources

            Parent-Guardian Withdraw Responsibility Form ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

            FAQs

            What are the restrictions for GDL drivers? ›

            A GDL scheme is likely to place restrictions on new drivers, such as a minimum learning period, not driving at night, or not driving with passengers under a certain age in the car.

            What are the 3 phases of the graduated drivers license program in Illinois? ›

            The three phases that make up Illinois' graduated driver license program are the instruction permit phase which starts at age 15, the initial licensing phase at ages 16-17, and the full licensing phase at ages 18-20.

            What does GDL mean? ›

            Graduated driver licensing (GDL) systems initially restrict the driving privileges of new drivers. As those persons gain driving experience and competencies, the restrictions are removed, typically in three stages.

            Can new drivers take passengers? ›

            How many passengers can a new driver have? There can be as many passengers in the vehicle as it can legally hold.

            Can Class 5 GDL drive at night? ›

            Learner's conditions:

            You are not permitted to drive from midnight to 5 a.m. You are not permitted to have more passengers than seat belts. You will be suspended if you accumulate eight or more demerit points.

            How many stages are there in GDL? ›

            Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) is a three-stage program designed to help new drivers, regardless of age, acquire the knowledge and skill needed to safely operate a motor vehicle. Whether you are 16 or 60, GDL enables new drivers to gain more experience under a greater variety of driving conditions.

            What is the main purpose for passenger restrictions as part of GDL laws? ›

            Police in all three States acknowledged that carrying teen passengers increases the risk of crashes and injury among young drivers. Generally, police officers were in favor of GDL and felt that the passenger restriction is more important than the curfew from a highway safety viewpoint.

            How many GDL driving hours are required by the state of Illinois? ›

            Must practice driving a minimum of 50 hours, including 10 hours at night, supervised by a parent or adult age 21 or older with a valid driver's license.

            Can you drive alone with a permit? ›

            Permit holders should always be accompanied by a person having a valid driver's licence for not less than two years except when driving a bicycle, solo motor-cycle or any vehicle other than a motor vehicle, not constructed or adapted to carry more than one person. Note: A learner's permit is only valid for six months.

            Does GDL give you a law degree? ›

            The GDL is a one-year course which non-law graduates aiming for a career as a solicitor must take before doing the obligatory Legal Practice Course (LPC). In effect it 'converts' your non-law degree into a qualifying law degree – for that reason it is sometimes also known as the 'conversion course'.

            What level qualification is GDL? ›

            The Graduate Diploma in Law (GDL) is a Law conversion course that effectively fits around 18 months of undergraduate Law study into one intensive year. These courses often provide you with preparation for the Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE).

            Is GDL the same as JD? ›

            Approximately half of all lawyers study a topic other than law as an undergraduate and then take a one-year conversion test known as the Graduate Diploma in Law (GDL). The JD, on the other hand, is a professional degree for people who want to be lawyers, with a more vocational course content than the LLB.

            Can new drivers drive at night UK? ›

            Can you drive at night on a provisional licence? Although some countries do restrict the hours learner drivers are allowed on the roads, learners in the UK can, at the moment, drive at any time of the day or night.

            Can a new driver drive their siblings around? ›

            During the first 12 months after you are licensed, you cannot drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. and cannot transport passengers under 20 years old, unless accompanied by a California-licensed parent or guardian, a California-licensed driver 25 years old or older, or a licensed or certified driving instructor.

            What are the new rules for new drivers? ›

            New Driving Laws: 6 Changes for Drivers in 2022
            • Mandatory Speed Limiters. All new cars are to be fitted with speed limiters from July 2022 to improve road safety. ...
            • Using Mobile Phones while Driving. ...
            • Council Fines for Minor Traffic Offences. ...
            • New Homes to Have EV Charging Points. ...
            • Clean Air Zone. ...
            • Highway Code Changes.

            What is the difference between Class 5 GDL and Class 5 Advanced? ›

            The basic Class 5 road test is approximately 6 to 10 kilometers in length and takes approximately 30 minutes to complete. The road test is designed to assess a new driver's basic driving skills and abilities. The Advanced Road Test is the second level road test for GDL and is more stringent in structure and design.

            What is the difference between Class 5 GDL and Class 5 non-GDL? ›

            Class 5 GDL

            GDL drivers are not eligible to upgrade to a Class 1, 2, 3, or 4 Commercial Licence. GDL drivers are not allowed to act as supervisory drivers to Class 7 Learners. A Class 5 GDL driver will be suspended at 8 demerits (as opposed to 15 for a non-GDL driver)

            Is GDL a provisional license? ›

            A Class 5 GDL licence is a probationary licence that all Alberta drivers hold for a minimum of 2 years before they can get their full Alberta Class 5 passenger vehicle driver's licence.

            Is the GDL hard to pass? ›

            While the percentage needed to achieve specific GDL grades may vary between universities, the following generally applies: If you score below 40% overall, this is a fail. The GDL pass rate is 40%. A score of between 60-70% will earn you a commendation, and 70% and above will gain you that coveted distinction.

            Are GDL exams hard? ›

            i'm aware there is a lot of study to do, but i need to understand if is possible for me to do it . Well, I have done the GDL - it isn't easy. It's intense with a high workload. Yes, some areas you will find easier than others, but some you are bound to find more challenging.

            Is the GDL equivalent to a degree? ›

            The GDL is a law conversion course, which puts non-law graduates on an equal footing with those who studied a law degree. While the introduction of the SQE has changed the way that solicitors qualify in England and Wales, many institutions will continue to run GDL courses during the transitional period.

            Can I drive my parents on my restricted? ›

            Carrying passengers on a restricted licence

            You must not carry passengers on a restricted licence unless: you have a supervisor with you and that supervisor agrees that you can carry passengers. you are carrying your spouse, de facto partner, civil union partner or a person you live with as if you are partners.

            How effective is GDL? ›

            Per mile driven, teen drivers ages 16 to 19 are nearly three times more likely than older drivers to be in a fatal crash. Graduated driver licensing programs (GDL) have consistently proven to be effective at reducing the crash risk for beginning drivers, including teens.

            What are the 3 keys to proactive driving? ›

            Three key elements of a safe driving strategy allow vehicle operators to navigate safely through this ever changing and potentially hazardous environment: Prepare; Anticipate; and Defend.

            How many questions maximum can you miss on the provisional GDL exam and still pass? ›

            The tests depend on what type of applicant you are: Provisional License Applicants: Maximum of eight errors allowed to still pass. Adult Original License Applicants: Maximum of five errors allowed to still pass.

            Who can be a passenger with a learner driver? ›

            Anyone can supervise a learner driver as long as they: Are over 21. Have had their full driving licence for three years (from countries in the EU/EEA) Are qualified to drive the type of vehicle they are supervising.

            What is a restricted license for 16 year olds? ›

            If you are 16 and have a Special Restricted or Conditional license, you may be eligible for a Special Restricted license with a waiver. The Special Restricted license with a waiver allows you to drive by yourself until midnight if you work or participate in certain extracurricular activities.

            What happens if a learner driver is caught driving alone? ›

            Put simply, you're breaking the law. It's illegal to drive on a provisional licence without a qualified driver beside you. If you are caught, you'll receive a fine and penalty points. For new drivers, that could mean an instant ban as soon as you've passed your test.

            What roads are learner drivers not allowed on? ›

            A learner permit allows you to drive on all public roads, except motorways, for the purposes of learning to drive and only when accompanied by an Approved Driving Instructor (ADI) or someone who has held a valid driving licence in the same category for more than two years.

            What happens if you get caught driving alone with a learner's permit? ›

            What will happen if I am stopped by the gardaí while driving unaccompanied on a learner permit? If you are stopped by gardaí while driving unaccompanied on a learner permit: if you are the vehicle owner, you could incur up to four penalty points and face a fine up to €120 as well as having your vehicle impounded.

            Which is better GDL or LLB? ›

            You might consider the LLB if you want a less intensive academic experience and would like extra time to apply for vacation schemes and training contracts. The benefit of the GDL is its shorter timeframe - it enables you to complete the course in half the time and save considerably on costs.

            Is a GDL respected? ›

            It's a route towards becoming a solicitor or a barrister, but it doesn't command much respect in any other field. An LLB will impress if you interview for jobs in politics, communications, media, where a GDL could look like little more than a curious mistake.

            Can you become a solicitor after a GDL? ›

            To become a solicitor, you must: Complete the one-year Graduate Diploma in Law (GDL), or the Law Conversion Course after finishing a non-law degree; Complete the Legal Practice Course (LPC) once you've finished your GDL.

            How much does GDL cost UK? ›

            Depending on your chosen institution, PGDL fees range between £5000 and £12,000, with the average for a full-time PGDL course being approximately £8,400.

            What job can you do with a GDL? ›

            Gdl jobs in London
            • Paralegal - Permanent - London. new. EY4.0. ...
            • Paralegal. new. LJ Legal Ltd. ...
            • Trainee Solicitor – London & Regional. Accutrainee. London E14. ...
            • Paralegal. new. Paddle. ...
            • Paralegal. new. Ebury. ...
            • Lead Paralegal. new. Cabinet Office4.0. ...
            • Associate. new. ...
            • London BPP Legal Access Scheme 2023 - Open to BPP Students. new.

            How long does it take to do a GDL? ›

            The Graduate Diploma in Law, known more widely as the GDL, is a one-year full time law conversion course (or two years part time) which brings students up to date with the knowledge they need to become a lawyer. The course may also be referred to as the Common Professional Exam (CPE).

            How much is the GDL course? ›

            This is a huge financial investment with no guarantee of a training contract or pupillage at the end of it. You are likely to be looking at fees of more than £9,000 per year for your undergraduate studies, but that's just the beginning. In 2021-22 Graduate Diploma in Law (GDL) course fees can be up to £12,550.

            Do you need a GDL to become a barrister? ›

            To complete the academic component of training, you need either a law degree or a non-law degree and the Graduate Diploma in Law (GDL). Your degree needs to be a minimum of a 2:2.

            What can I do with a Graduate Diploma in Law? ›

            Career. By completing the Diploma you will be qualified to take the Legal Practice Course (LPC) for solicitors and the Bar Vocational Studies (BVS) for barristers. You will be guaranteed a place on our LPC and strongly advised to apply for the BVS. All UK lawyers are currently required to take one of these.

            What can new drivers not do? ›

            Tips for new drivers
            • Consider taking a Pass Plus course. ...
            • Avoid driving at night. ...
            • Don't let passengers distract you. ...
            • Never show off. ...
            • Never drive after alcohol or drugs. ...
            • Ensure everyone is wearing a seat belt. ...
            • Don't speed. ...
            • Avoid powerful cars.
            13 Jun 2022

            How long are you classed as a new driver? ›

            For some car insurance companies, drivers are considered “new” until they have three years of experience on the road, for others it can up to five or even nine years. Some carriers do not look at the date that you were first licensed, but instead use your age as the only determining factor.

            Can a newly passed driver drive on the motorway? ›

            As long as you have passed your test, you are allowed on a motorway. There are no laws against it. However, driving on the motorway can be a daunting task, especially if you have only just passed your test. Therefore, it's important that you are clued up before you get out there.

            Does additional driver have to live with you? ›

            If someone asks you whether they can be added, you might wonder whether or not they need to live at your address. The answer here is no, it's perfectly possible to add a named driver who lives at a different address to you.

            Can I buy a car with a provisional license? ›

            Owning a car with a provisional licence

            But can you own a car with a provisional licence? The short answer is: yes, you can! Even though your licence is provisional, meaning you must always have a supervisor or instructor with you, you can buy your own car.

            Can a 16 year old drive their siblings around? ›

            Minors under 18 are issued a provisional license. During the first 12 months after getting a license, they cannot drive other teens unless accompanied by a parent or guardian, a licensed driver age 25 or older, or a licensed or certified driving instructor.

            What are new driving laws for 2022? ›

            The 2022 Highway Code says that if pedestrians have started crossing the road and drivers want to turn into the road, pedestrians crossing have priority, and the traffic should give way to them.

            What does the new UK driving licence look like 2022? ›

            The Royal Crest is visible on the front. The driver number has been left justified and is now in line with the other text. The secondary image of the licence holder is now located on the front of the card. The OVI (colour shifting ink) design has been reinstated and updated to the back of the licence.

            What are 10 mistakes new drivers make? ›

            Top 10 mistakes young drivers make
            • Being distracted behind the wheel. Cell phones, music, food and even text messages can pose serious distractions to drivers. ...
            • Taking too many risks. ...
            • Speeding. ...
            • Overcrowding the car. ...
            • Driving under the influence. ...
            • Following too closely. ...
            • Driving unbuckled. ...
            • Not being able to handle emergencies.

            What is the essence of GDL restrictions? ›

            Hours: For the first three months of holding a Learner's License, driving is only allowed during daylight hours. After the first three months, driving is only allowed until 10 p.m. ALWAYS accompanied by a licensed driver 21+ in the front passenger seat.

            What is the main purpose for passenger restrictions as part of the GDL law? ›

            Police in all three States acknowledged that carrying teen passengers increases the risk of crashes and injury among young drivers. Generally, police officers were in favor of GDL and felt that the passenger restriction is more important than the curfew from a highway safety viewpoint.

            What are the restrictions for a restricted driver? ›

            The restrictions of a Restricted Licence are:
            • You must have your licence with you when you are driving;
            • You can drive during the day (between 5am and 10pm) without a supervisor;
            • You must have a supervisor who has held a full licence for at least 2 years in your front passenger seat if you drive between 10 pm and 5am;
            26 Aug 2017

            Is GDL a valid Class 5? ›

            Before you can get a full Class 5 driver's licence, you must have a Class 5 Graduated Driver's Licence (GDL) for at least 2 years with no suspensions in the last year. While driving with a Class 5- GDL licence, the following rules apply: you cannot drive with more people than there are seat belts in your vehicle.

            What are the benefits of GDL? ›

            The effectiveness of GDL programs can be observed through marked reductions in the number of young and novice driver crashes. There has been a 41% reduction in their rate of fatal crash rate.

            What happens if you get a ticket in GDL? ›

            A license will be canceled if the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) receives a conviction for a violation committed by a driver under age 18 who obtained a GDL and who was not 6 months violation free at the time of the GDL issuance. The driver must be 6 months violation free to reapply for the license.

            What comes after GDL? ›

            Put simply, a GDL is for non-Law graduates who want to convert their degree to an LLB (Hons) and eventually pursue a legal career. The next step in this path is the SQE: a two-part exam introduced in September 2021 as a way of simplifying the qualification process for solicitors.

            Is there only one phase of GDL restrictions? ›

            There is only one phase for GDL restrictions. In order to graduate to GDL Phase II, teens must hold the Learner License for at least 6 months and be 16 years of age. During GDL phase I, minors are restricted to practicing their driving skills with an authorized adult.

            How much is the fine for violating any of the restrictions of the GDL permit or probationary license NJ? ›

            Face a fine of $100 for a violation under the GDL THE GDL IS A THREE STAGE LICENSING PROCESS THAT IS DESIGNED TO GIVE NEW DRIVERS INCREASED, STEP-BY-STEP INSTRUCTION AND DRIVING EXPERIENCE ON THE ROAD TO OBTAINING A BASIC DRIVER LICENSE.

            Can you drive after 10pm on your restricted? ›

            You can drive on your own, but not between 10pm and 5am. If you drive between these times you must have a supervisor in the front passenger seat who holds a full New Zealand car licence with no supervisor condition, and has held it (or an equivalent overseas licence) for at least two years.

            Can you drive your sister on your restricted? ›

            Remember: drivers with a restricted licence must not drive with passengers* unless there is a supervising driver (who has had their full licence for 2 years or more) seated in the front passenger seat. Restricted licence drivers cannot legally give lifts to their brothers/ sisters.

            Does GDL convert your degree? ›

            The GDL is a law conversion course, which puts non-law graduates on an equal footing with those who studied a law degree. While the introduction of the SQE has changed the way that solicitors qualify in England and Wales, many institutions will continue to run GDL courses during the transitional period.

            Is GDL respected? ›

            It's a route towards becoming a solicitor or a barrister, but it doesn't command much respect in any other field. An LLB will impress if you interview for jobs in politics, communications, media, where a GDL could look like little more than a curious mistake.

            Videos

            1. Graduated Driver Licensing
            (MrMacIsaac)
            2. The Graduated Driving Licensing Program
            (Lyn Du)
            3. Graduated Driver Licensing Made Simple | New York
            (ImpactTeenDrivers)
            4. Graduated Driver Licensing Made Simple | Illinois
            (ImpactTeenDrivers)
            5. GPH 714 Graduated Driver Licensing Programs
            (Sebastien Sannajust)
            6. Graduated driver licensing to save lives
            (ABC15 Arizona)
            Top Articles
            Latest Posts
            Article information

            Author: Margart Wisoky

            Last Updated: 02/01/2023

            Views: 6464

            Rating: 4.8 / 5 (78 voted)

            Reviews: 93% of readers found this page helpful

            Author information

            Name: Margart Wisoky

            Birthday: 1993-05-13

            Address: 2113 Abernathy Knoll, New Tamerafurt, CT 66893-2169

            Phone: +25815234346805

            Job: Central Developer

            Hobby: Machining, Pottery, Rafting, Cosplaying, Jogging, Taekwondo, Scouting

            Introduction: My name is Margart Wisoky, I am a gorgeous, shiny, successful, beautiful, adventurous, excited, pleasant person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.